Africa CDC Statement to Member States regarding thromboembolic events after vaccination with Janssen COVID-19 vaccine (Johnson & Johnson)

The Janssen COVID-19 vaccine is presently only use in South Africa, of all 55 member states.

The Janssen COVID-19 vaccine was registered by the South African Health Products Regulatory Authority (SAHPRA) on April 6th and almost 290,000 doses had been administered. 

On 13th April 2021, the South Africa Minister of Health announced that the country had not registered any reports of blood clots and thrombosis following vaccination with the Janssen COVID-19 vaccine.  As a precautionary measure, the country has decided to pause the rollout of the vaccine to review and assess the situation along with global regulatory authorities. Africa CDC 

Other news